Connections and Audrey Hepburn and truth in #cck11

Does connectivism explain ways to understand truth?

For this discussion my definition of truth is: information which is regarded by me and trusted people as corresponding with facts.

When I am connected to some information (about a color) and I want to check the truth of the information. Then I connect to other nodes to compare information. This nodes could be readings from a machine, people, internet, books, experience, my  knowledge, etc.

What is the true color? That is up to me to decide, comparing the information from the nodes.

What is the meaning of the central node? Is it <Me> or is it <Information about the color> ?  It is in my view the information about the color. “Me” is not in an information network.

In this network I need information about the nodes, in order to value the information. Is Audrey a reliable source? Is the book trustworthy? I need information about the trustworthiness of the sources.

The brains is information and connections from my history. I have to know if this “my knowledge” is trustworthy, as well as the trustworthiness of the other nodes.

If you want to know more about the truth: Truth on Wikipedia is a good start for a lifetime of study on truth.

3 thoughts on “Connections and Audrey Hepburn and truth in #cck11

  1. Does truth exist? Everything we perceive is perceived through our senses, which are in last instance filters to the stimulus coming from the world. The brain processes the stimuli and from them construct meaning, influenced by our memories and lessons learned earlier. In this way the only truth that I can imagine is the truth of each one.
    This point brings us back to the importance of connections. We need each other, the truth of the other (different from mine) to form a better representation of things. It is in the territory of intersubjectivity that things really are re(-)vealed. Are the shoes the same shoes to you and me and Van Gogh? (http://t2.gstatic.com/images?q=tbn:ANd9GcR2YNtlcmDDBpseEqUkMhe7-netq7RL2u_bw3_34VwB-Tsv2V-B) Aletheia?

  2. Thanks Daisy. Truth is a difficult subject, but if objective truth does not exist we are just talking nonsense, talking about nothing. If truth is subjective then the truth of Stalin or another dictator is true and nobody can argue against it. If the truth of negro slaves was only subjective nobody would have listened to the call for freedom.
    You are right, to discover true meaning we need other people.
    I understand you use Aletheia in the sense of Heidegger, did you read him? I did read him. I had my doubts before because him being a professor in Germany in 1939-1945. After reading his Sein und Zeit my opinion on this Heidegger is only negative.

  3. We see in a certain range of wavelengths. We hear within a range of frequency and intensity of sound and so on. Other living beings perceive the world and operate in bands different from ours, which is not to say that things (that they perceive and we don`t) do not exist … just we can notice see them.

    Every human endeavor is an effort to increase the capacity of their senses. Every expansion of perception corresponds a new understanding of the world and the arrival of a new truth … for a while. What is the real truth?

    When I studied Gestalt theory as part of my training as a psychotherapist I met the ideas of Heidegger. My opinion is not so negative…but it is only a opinion based in my memories and learnings. Is there a truth about this point? Is there only one Heidegger for every one? Again the truth is a construction, our possible construction at this historic moment.

    Connected we have a better chance of getting closer to a better understanding of the possible truth of our times. Nothing more than that.

    Thinking about the question you propose I remembered a text by Otto Maria Carpeaux, about the eternal debate between Don Quixote and Sancho Panza on what things are and what they seem to be.Castles or windmills? Aldonza or Dulcinea?

    ????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????
    Daisy/Ysiad

Leave a Reply

