Life presentation on #change11

I do not like these passive presentations. I did listen to and read and watch the presentation in fuzemeeting of 21 sept 2011. (that were three rather passive verbs). We did read the paper, we did see the slides of the presentation in the days before. And after we did read these, the presenter is presenting the stuff once more. And being very busy presenting, the presenter is not able to look at the questions in the chat.
I would like to be able to send questions to the presenter before the life meeting.
The presenter could think about answers and discuss the answers with the public. That could be a stimulus for the audience to go on and write and talk in the week ahead about the content of the presentation.

These presentations were done in the Middle Ages, it is not a new way of teaching or learning, it is a very old-fashioned way of teaching. And I must confess, it does not work for me.

Please, do understand it is not the presenter of today I am referring to, it is the common kind of presenting teacher of today. These teachers are busy presenting and not connecting to the students. Could we change this teacher behavior in this #change11 MOOC?

9 thoughts on “Life presentation on #change11

  1. Unfortunately this is very common. I sat in a new faculty orientation yesterday for 4 hours while the presenters read their slides to us. Sometimes it seems as though faculty do not understand that training or teaching their peers might require different methods.

    Slides with lots of words are useful only if you don’t have a real person to talk to and with!

    Best,
    LeahGrrl

  2. Hi Jaapsoft!
    Good point. This listen-read-watch teaching happens in live sessions as in classrooms, what is the point in not connecting with students? Not learning. Not sharing. Not “I dont know”… is save?

    And what questions would you have sent in advance to the teacher?

  3. now I don’t feel so remiss for having missed it. Not Change11, but have you been to any of Jeff Lebow’s webcasts? Called COOLcasts, you might not agree (probably won’t) with focus or ideas but they are always lively and usually interesting.

    After a while mooc boundaries blur and simultaneous moocs can be hard to tell apart, disorienting

  4. Luz, good question, I will sleep on it tonight. I like to know what someone will learn with SMS messages. Because I am engaged in discussing with teachers a more student centered way of teaching, students as partners in their education, and not only clients of a school.

    LeahGrrl, for my job I have to attend educational congresses and I hate these sessions with presenters. If a presenter starts this way I will leave the room and talk in the corridors with people that did escape the sessions too.

  5. You know what…I agree. I would have preferred an interactive discussion myself instead of going over the slide content again. We should try to have subsequent sessions more interactive.

  6. Hi Jaap, I wasn’t there for @mweller’s presentation, I would have liked to have been.

    Martin gave everyone an opportunity before the presentation to choose 3 topics, here he also asks is it enough to do the live session and respond to queries on twitter and through his blog. So I am sure the limitations of the synchronous sessions are apparent to the facilitators and presenters of the MOOC. At least I know Martin is thinking about it.

    I want to be sure that if I’m going to get out of bed in the middle of the night there is a benefit to me over and above what I can get from going over the recording in the morning and catching up on the blog posts and twitter conversations.

    So what are the alternatives? How would you propose to run a live video session so that the benefit to being synchronous far outweigh the benefits from catching he recording later? I’m honestly curious, maybe there isn’t an answer, but as educators we need to be thinking about these things critically.

Leave a Reply

