A chaotic model Rhizomatic #change11

Is Learning Rhizomatic? Rhizomatic=chaotic? Is Rhizomatic Model a Paradox or an Oxymoron?
A model is anything used in any way to represent anything else. A model is used to explain something.
A rhizomatic model explains growth in many directions and explains learning as establishing connections. This is a process model or an historic model because it explains what happens during a period of learning.
A model is a visualization of an idea, it is not a theory or explanation.
A model that visualizes and represents the chaotic nature of reality could be a useful tool to people with a narrow view. But a model that only visualizes chaos and interconnectedness of everything to everything might be a paradox. Because a model without a structure might not even be a real useful model.
What is a useful model?
I need a model that helps me to learn and teach to play a musical instrument.
If that learning to play an instrument looks like a rhizome, how will that help me in better playing?
The rhizome model is a macro model, it does not explain the bits and pieces of learning of knowledge or skills.

Source image image

7 thoughts on “A chaotic model Rhizomatic #change11

  1. Interesting question which has got me thinking. The devil is always in the detail šŸ™‚

  2. Is this not the point of pro – anti testing, pigeon holeing discussion?
    Learning in my view can be an easly modelled, sterile, follow the road process. Which, therefore can be improved IF we develop a new model.
    Learning in my view can also be rhizomatic – chaotic connectavism at it’s best. I learn in both ways and I believe so do my students. we all bring our own ‘baggage’ to every learning situation. I prefer the second description as my favourite mode of teaching and learning, with a bit of structure to ensure purpose. I know the system I work in favours the former.
    I like the ideas I ‘come across’ in #change11 and the MOOC. Cheers.

  3. Thanks Barry, In a new post I will argue that
    a. a follow the road process of education does not exist in reality. (the road being not there and following the road is impossible)
    b. a new model is possible, but a new system is impossible. (a model being an image of a system)
    It is not pro or anti testing, what I want to discuss. I know in some countries this is a big issue. In the Netherlands where I live testing is common.

  4. “I need a model that helps me to learn and teach to play a musical instrument.
    If that learning to play an instrument looks like a rhizome, how will that help me in better playing?”

    This question reminds me that a newcomer to a discipline often needs structure. Even Dave Cormier tries to give more structure for the uninitiated in the early going in #Rhizo14. When you begin to play a musical instrument, you will probably need a very arboreal model to take you from novice to accomplished. (I am completely un-musical, confusing louder with higher, so I may be way off here.) But once you have the small muscle memory that lets your lips or fingers accurately create the vibrations you imagine in your mind, then a model that looks like a rhizome may just make a jazz player out of you.

  5. Could it be that the arboreal model is a way to highlight some aspects of experience and to shade some out? In that case arboreal is not contrasting rhizome but a way to make visible and to look at certain parts of the rhizome?

Leave a Reply

