Rhizomes and education. What would my ideal learning situation be? #change11


What would my ideal learning situation be? I like to struggle on my own trying to find answers on my questions. Of course I do need people on my path in the gardens of learning, but I do not like teachers. Teachers always want to show their flowers and almost never want to see my work in the garden. (I sometimes did meet a good gardener/teacher). I don’t have a GPS in my car, like to find my own way and sometimes get lost in beautiful places I’ d never be with a teacher/guide/GPS).

“… ‘Any teacher who can be replaced by a pencil… should be! – Arthur C. Chalk. …”

I am very happy with MOOC learning, The MOOC helps finding learners and questions and unexpected views.
I am a web editor for education, thus my work is learning and my learning is work.
When I like to learn a skill I need an example, a how-to, a  manual, and I need practice. And if a problem or solution is not clear I need someone to tell me where I am wrong. Or I need a forum (on this blog or elsewhere)  to ask questions. And I need thinking over and to repeat and apply the learned.

And Rhizomes are everywhere

In Clark Quinn I do discover something rhizomatic.  ” … My problem with the formal models of instructional design (e.g. ADDIE for process), is that most are based upon a flawed premise.  The premise is that the world is predictable and understandable, so that we can capture the ‘right’ behavior and train it. …”   (Clark Quinn) This “flawed premise” is what we could name “reductionism”.  Deleuze’s rhizome is a way to avoid reductionism.  In Coming to know – the path of the rhizome Dave Cormier explains rhizomatic learning, as is Between the By-road and the Main Road  (Mary Ann Reilly).

“… I’m edging around the idea that you can’t teach with a rhizomatic model in mind, you can only learn with a rhizomatic model…” (Lawrie says in comment.)

Badge is of Dave Dormier 

5 thoughts on “Rhizomes and education. What would my ideal learning situation be? #change11

  1. Hi, this topic in my blog, Is very interesting. the concept of multitasking is not accepted by many, but I found an article and really enjoyed it and I intend to explore. I’m traveling away from home but Wednesday will be putting posts late.

  2. The problem isn’t the teachers (most of them anyway) it’s the system they must serve. How could it possibly be that the school year–year after year set in advance could select a moment in time to present content that precisely matches the needs of one student multiplied by, say, 30 in a class? The only way to predict this impossibility of prefect timing is to build a model student, build a model of the model students needs and wait in the weeds until a real student comes along and assign it to them. School is basically not in the present but is presented as it were the most wondrous model of timely responsiveness–the script is written, the actors assemble, the new season begins.

    Why else would school start with children? Who else starts with children?

    Learning and thinking about things is messy and multidimensional. A totally inappropriate activity to practice in school. And yet, where else could we do it?

    Scott

  3. Hi Scott, Thank you for your insightful comment. My blogpost did describe part of my own history. You put it on a higher level and look at it with a broader view.

  4. […] Reductionism: The [flawed] premise is that the world is predictable and understandable, so that we can capture the ‘right’ behavior and train it. …” (Clark Quinn) This “flawed premise” is what we could name “reductionism”.  No sound academic is reductionist. Schools do make their students believe that scientific proof is possible.  I do not agree with Quinn, in my view the world is predictable, but predictions sometimes do not come true. Than our predictions were not right. A rhizomatic model explains growth in many directions and explains learning as establishing connections. The rhizomatic learning metaphor could be useful. The philosophy of Deleuze is to French and mystic for my taste. […]

Leave a Reply

