Open letter to a teacher

creative commons

 

 

 

 

 

 

 
Dear colleague,
On your website I do find great and useful educational material  that I would like to use. It is great stuff. But you have a copyright sign © on your website.
Now I do not know why you’ve put that copyright mark there. But now there is a problem because I am not allowed to use your beautiful material  because you explicitly want to apply copyright.
So I cannot tell you whether I like using your material in my lessons, because I am not free to use it. Because that is what a copyright notice  on your site stand for anyway?
Maybe you have good arguments as to why you want to retain copyright on your website, which is unfortunate.
Maybe you really want me and other teachers to use your educational materials. The copyright sign © an obstacle.
You could delete the copyright symbol and add a copyleft sign or creative commons. Then I can use your great materials, I would really appreciate it.
It is important that you make very clear which rights you want to apply, because if you just leave it copyright laws apply.

 

6 thoughts on “Open letter to a teacher

  1. Very good letter. We struggle with not being “allowed” to use images and great diagrams that would be very helpful to our students’ understanding of a concept. How do we protect an idea or image from “misuse”? Do we worry only for credit or fame or is it an expression of personal autonomy? Is Rose the Koe copyrighited? Isn’t she made of many parts developed by others?

  2. Hi Scott, Thanks, my picture of Rose is free of copyright. I did add a Creative Commons note to my site.
    Some animals are/were trademarked or copyrighted, like Dolly the sheep, as they are genetically manipulated animals. Even plants are copyrighted, is not that awful?

  3. Thank You, That often works best, say what you really want and be polite. And leave something open for questions. To keep discussions going.

  4. […] Open Letter to a Teacher urges teachers to licence their work by adding a creative commons licence so others know they are free to use the work, and the conditions under which they can do so. It’s an easy way to contribute to the open education movement. […]

Leave a Reply

