Why I like blogging. Blog as a Map of learning walk

In a Mooc I do always blog.
It is because my texts and your comments are in one place here in this blog. We could read the history of this blog. Here I save your comments. With this blog We are connected with comments and tags and with pingback. In this way my blog is a map of my learning walk through moocs. In the blog as a map comments are highly valued places of connection to fellow participants and their blogs.
I do copy text from this blog to other places (in comments on blogs, on facebook, and in Google+.
I do like blogging more than Google+ because G+ is a chaotic mass of comments and texts. Slowly g+ is getting better.
With blogging we meet in smaller groups around the subjects we like. (In G+ we get lost because everyone is producing different texts that make us loose direction.

Teachers should encourage students to publish texts in a blog. A blog as a portfolio.

6 thoughts on “Why I like blogging. Blog as a Map of learning walk

  1. I’m with you, as I see my blog as a sort of anchor spot for thinking and for archiving what we are doing. I like the other spaces — Google Plus and Twitter and beyond — but my home as a writer remains my blog.
    Kevin

  2. […] How is connectivism in education related to cocreation and co-design? (what comes next is written in 2013 july 6) In #clmooc Hacking is an important way of producing. Making by hacking, adapting and ‘ímproving’ could be the only way to make. That makes making and producing a human enterprise, because you need someone else’s idea, make to make your own make. This draft is a hack of an older post. This post was made because the influence of participants in the clmooc. They made me think, and made me look into the map of this blog. […]

  3. I love the idea of a blog as a map of a learning walk – that’s a metaphor that expresses and dignifies the emerging insights and connections blogging as genre and tool commonly afford. I agree that G+ is a (beautiful) chaotic mess. Twitter feels like a a series of long-distance sprints, with oxymoron intended. I love them too in different ways. We need better tools for moving between and among these spaces on the open web. G+ is slowly, reluctantly opening itself to more connectedness with other spaces. I would want us to push them to do more.

  4. I left a comment somewhere about how the learning walks reminded me of Rousseau’s promenades in Reveries of a Solitary Walker. The promenades remind me of a series of blog posts ~ except we are supposed to connected not solitary ~ that is, unless no one comments.

    I thought about maps, blogs, and walks ~ reflectively I hope ~ without pinning any of them down, except perhaps by their initial impression as set and definable, which disintegrates on closer examination ~ different kinds of each and ranging from specific to metaphorical and allegorical.

    I even did the handy Google thing that Gordon did in introduction to philosophy ~ googling “what is a a map.” Appropriately, answers ranged specific to symbolic. What is a blog? I have too many and won’t even go there. Anything you want it to be. I like blog as a map for real, remembered or imagined learning walks.

    Search serendipity ~ I found this book review post titled “What is a Map? A collection of unusual maps from Maps: Finding Our Place in the World http://www.press.uchicago.edu/books/akerman/index.html

    …like blogging…and moocs (which imo could do with more maps…even if of the “here be dragons” “swamp of miasma” variety…

    PS there is a map mooc coming up too, Maps and the Geospatial Revolution, https://www.coursera.org/course/maps

  5. You’re absolutely right. Blogged reflections and thoughts, images, comments, links, etc. make for an excellent map. Even if the posts are never read, I appreciate having a space to think and a witness of who/what has influenced my thoughts as time passes.

Leave a Reply

