Books

readthefmanual

‘Methinks there is equal need of a Society for the Diffusion of Useful Ignorance, what we will call Beautiful Knowledge,’ (Thoreau, Walking)

Church nor government were the first to open Public libraries in my country. Why? How is that in your country?
In Wikipedia I found a list of book burning history. People are afraid of books. Governments, churches did burn books. Wars are dangerous for books. Why do governments and religious persons burn books?
Governments and churches made list of forbidden books, because of reading those books would make one stupid?
My mother told me reading too much is bad for eyes and brains, they wear off. She did not believe reading would make me stupid.

Some students do believe anything that has been said in the news on the television. Some do believe their teacher, some believe books. Good teachers help these students to unbelieve television or books and teachers to challenge authority structures.

I did have some ideas on the slogan “the community is the curriculum”. How about you? Is this community really the curriculum? I have a feeling the curriculum is made by one or some of the community. (are we  a community or  a crowd?)

Course on crap detection Howard Rheingold crap detection 101 with some links to other crap detection.
Baloney detection kit (Sagan)

11 thoughts on “Books

  1. I’ve been thinking on the community question too…on some levels I think yes, in the sense that the ‘curriculum’ – or at least the way the ‘curriculum’ plays out has pretty much been determined by participants- the fact that there is no content other than the blog posts we write, the comments we make (or very little, if you count Dave’s videos and unhangout sessions as teacher created ‘course content’).
    At the same time though, it does feel kind of disjointed, like we’re all off doing our own thing, sometimes bumping shoulders, stopping to chat or play, but essentially each trying to find our own meaning, travelling our own journey, rather than walking all along one path, together, as a group. It’s a tough one, a strange experience. But i’m quite enthralled by it – mainly by the feeling of not quite knowing what’s around the corner, or what’s going to happen next.

  2. Hi Tanya, thanks for comments.
    My question is: do participants just react on Dave’s sessions and questions? This ‘book question ‘ of week 4 is almost a non-subject, so we could save room for other subjects. But until now that did not happen.
    This community question is the subject of Heli Nurmi http://www.helinurmi.fi/blog/.
    #rhizo14 is to me a new experience, and curiosity keeps me going. I really like the play and ds106 excursions.

  3. Yes – I replied on Heli’s blog too (I thought you might have been inspired by his post!).

    I’m motivated by the same as you – curiosity, new experience – experiencing what this ‘rhizomatic learning’ might actually be. I like the playfulness that’s emerging too – largely I feel, from those who have had some exposure to DS106 and are familiar with using play, creating, making as a form of expression. I find the mashup of communities really interesting. Yet – I’m still unsure if rhizo14 has all the components of a ‘community’. It seems dispersed, disjointed in some ways. I think that is partly because it’s dispersed across multiple platforms, but also because of the loose structure, the participatory rather than directive approach taken by Dave – and also perhaps because many of us are, let’s face it, distracted – perhaps easily so – by other things: life, other MOOCs and communities that we’re involved in.

    In terms of your question re reaction to Dave. I actually think people – what I’ve seen – have been quite engaged in exploring his questions, interpreting them in different ways. I’ve never experienced a MOOC where the participants have been such prolific bloggers – it’s actually really hard to keep up with what’s going on – but I guess that’s partly the point: creation of abundance, no-one can really ever know the ‘whole’.

  4. Hi Jaap and Tanya, I’m enjoying the disjointed nature of this course. First reaction to each week’s question is confusion on “what to do with it” and that seems like valuable practice for discovery. I like being close to not knowing what to do, how about you guys?

  5. Yes, I think participants for the most part only react to Dave’s sessions and questions. For me it feels like a big brainstorm, which starts with Dave’s challenges (which are questions to be answered through text, and from which conversations sprout). It has been interesting, anyway, or we wouldn’t be talking about it now.

    I have been thinking about how, despite the discussion about indepence, we need the teacher to point the way. We can choose to follow, or not to follow. This is an independent decision. But for me, if I don’t know something, I have to look for someone who knows. This is the case with learning about “rhizomatic learning” (for me). I follow those who know. Freedom means that you can go off the track as you please – if you want to. You can disagree, or agree, or watch in silence, or do something else.

    It has been like a conversation, which is started by someone – in this case Dave – who has been thinking about this stuff for some time, much more than I have.

    I think it is possible to take this to another level, but we haven’t done it yet.

    arca.noblogs.org

  6. Yes!! When I say people have been ‘engaged’ I mean thinking about the question – or the broad topic – and putting forth their interpretation or line of thinking…in many cases yes, this thinking is embryonic a ‘big brainstorm’ is a good description. But actually I think that it’s when thoughts aren’t fully formed that there is the greatest potential for conversation to emerge. You kind of feel less intimidated to comment if the thoughts are less ‘polished’.
    But I’ve also done a lot of lurking and blog hopping too – this is what’s been making me a little uncomfortable actually. The sheer volume of good posts being written and lack of time to comment on them all in a meaningful way. Has meant sometimes I’ve just kept moving from post to post.

    I’ve been thinking along the lines of the ‘conversation as the community’…but it’s not always been the case. There’s probably a lot of private thinking going on under the surface, what is posted publicly is only the tip of the iceberg.

  7. Yeah, “brainstorm” also because one of the most interesting things so far, for me, has been all the various contents that people have been sharing, besides the discussions themselves, and the way the ideas lead to associations to other topics, other thoughts and themes, that surpass the limits of the initial discussion. Many interesting finds thanks to these. : )

  8. Earlier I said I liked being close to not knowing what to do and really it’s gone past that. Someone says something and it triggers a search through bookcase that sort-of fits. Not a fit that resolves some great question but only something that continues the flow. Like passing from one path to the next without needing a finish point.
    When I painted, the outcome was clear at the beginning and dissolved as the work went on to a sense of adequate completeness, or the pull to start another painting. There was never certainty and always the suspicion that “completion” was a falsehood–always a sampling leading to another decision not to decide.
    Try to fit that into a work ethic.

  9. Learning is like painting, but when the painting is done more paintings are waiting. It takes time to discover the painting that is waiting. Looking sideways is a way to discover these new arrived paint-jobs.
    Maybe a little Zen patience is needed be able to wait for the solution to be discovered.

  10. Patience is good but sometimes you can force something to declare itself. I think patience may not be a virtue in all cases. Like if it doesn’t matter if you are right at the start, but it does matter that you get started, then you could skip the Zen patience part and be wrong right away. Then you can see how it goes. People who believe in expertise as an infallible art disallow the possibility of mistakes and can’t imagine “wrongness” as a feature of of reality, making everything they think unreliable.

Leave a Reply

