Afscheid van Facebook. Facebook deleted.

574px-Mark_Zuckerberg_1984_Berlin_GraffitiIk heb mijn lidmaatschap van Facebook opgezegd.
Facebook was tijdens sommige MOOCs een manier om mat medestudenten in kontakt te blijven, en met de lezers van mijn webpagina’s op Kennisnet.
Maar het voelt niet goed dat Facebook (FB) zoveel weet van alle gebruikers. Zoals een professor van me het ooit zei: “Er is geen natuurwet die zegt dat macht altijd leidt tot machtsmisbruik, het is slechts een ervaringsfeit, maar tot nu toe zijn er op die observatie geen uitzonderingen.

I deleted my membership of Facebook.
Facebook was a way to stay in touch with fellow students in MOOCs and with the readers of my web pages on Kennisnet.
But it does not feel good that Facebook (FB) knows so much of its users. As a professor of mine once said: “It is no natural law that power always leads to abuse of power, it is just experience, but so far there are no exceptions to this observation. We don’t want to be a dot appearing on Facebook’s live map. So, we’ll choose to opt-out for now.

Je kunt me volgen op Twitter @jaapsoft. Je kunt een kommentaar schrijven bij deze blogpost als je kontakt met me wilt houden.

You can follow me on Twitter @jaapsoft. You can write a comment on this blog post if you want to keep in touch.

Source image/  bron  afbeelding: https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Criticism_of_Facebook

2 thoughts on “Afscheid van Facebook. Facebook deleted.

  1. Jaap – I appreciate your concerns. I don’t like the way FB manipulates data transmitted between users and I don’t like the complex settings that I can never get around to studying in detail. I don’t feel in control and I’m not sure who can see what. All the same, it does have its uses – remember the CCK11 page? On the whole I favour a pragmatic approach to FB and commercially driven social media in general. I try to use it, even exploit it on my own terms – so far I’ve not had any real problems.

Leave a Reply

