About Garden Eight, Lei Liang (1)


Garden Eight is a piece by Lei Liang,composer.  He wrote a collection of  6 parts, 天 Tian, heaven, 地 Di, earth, 東 Dong,oost, 南 Nan,zuid, 西 Xi, west and 北 Bei, noord。 Lei Liang wants the parts to be gardens, visual worlds and worlds of other senses. Passing clouds, remote mountains, sound of ancient temple bells, transience of seasons.

These pieces are musical gardens. To perform one of them is to walk through a garden of sounds.

Chinese connect directions to elements and colors and notes.

direction color element note
east green wood jue 角
south red fire zhi 緻
west white metal shang2 商
north black water yu3 羽
centre yellow earth gong1 宮

(Fung Yu-lan, A History of Chinese Philosophy II. p.13)

天 (tian)means heaven and is in Chinese culture as loaded with different meanings as in christian cultures. It is above, nature, the sky, the place of the gods, etc.





2 thoughts on “About Garden Eight, Lei Liang (1)

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s