Digital citizen

My question on citizenship. Is a human = a citizen?

Is een mens een burger en niet meer dan een burger?

Stephen Downes: My citizenship begins with, and is defined only by, my actions.

Question: is the city only a group of humans called citizens or is a citizen defined as a subject, a person under the power of the city? Or is a citizen a free person.
Is citizenship a democratic phenomenon? In history it was, but in the words I feel a kind of collectivism. Maybe my feeling is not right?

Vraag, is een stad een groep mensen die burger genoemd worden, of is een burger een onderdaan? Of een vrije persoon?
Is digitaal burgerschap een demokratisch fenomeen? Vroeger was een burger van een stad een vrije. Maar in digital citizen of burger proef ik iets kollektiefs, minder vrij.

I don’t understand why they are using the term “citizen” at all – it’s really not clear to me that my relationship with the various places online that I visit or inhabit is that of a citizen at all., Nomadwarmachine.

Leave a Reply

